Family Ouch Kit plus Free Printable


I’m a sucker for plastic boxes, especially when they help organize anything in my life. I have boxes for my children’s keepsakes, boxes for craft-this and scrapbook-that, busy boxes for my son (future blog post, so stay tuned), a diaper/potty box I keep handy in the car stocked full of diapers and wipes, and when we were potty training our son, it even contained Clorox wipes and small trash bags.

So, naturally, when I was combing Pinterest one day for ideas on keeping our two preschoolers entertained during our summer road trip, I ran across a why-didn’t-I-think-of-that idea! An “Ouch Kit.” Woah! I immediately clicked on the pin from myfrugaladventures.com, and I knew this was something my family needed – for our road trip and even for everyday adventures this summer. 

The Ouch Kit mentioned on the blog offered some great ideas, and I soon took to customizing a box to fit our family’s needs. I hope this post can do the same for your family!

I used a plastic wipes box, which the blog suggested, and it’s the perfect size! I dug through my sticker collection and found some letters to create a label for the front of the box. 

Typically, I carry travel size sunscreen, and in the summer, travel bug repellant. I also usually carry adult pain relief medicine, so the list below contains items helpful to keep handy in an Ouch Kit.

▫️ Antiseptic wash

▫️Antibiotic ointment, such a Neosporin

▫️ Non-stick compression pads

▫️ Gauze wrap

▫️ Assorted bandages (I included fun Band-Aid designs for our son and daughter, and plain ones for adults, in case someone wasn’t comfortable sporting a Paw Patrol or Disney Princess Band-Aid.)

▫️Pair non-latex gloves

▫️Package travel tissues 

▫️Itch relief stick, such as After-Bite, or cream, such as Benedryl

▫️Thermometer 

▫️Fever reducing “kool” pads

▫️A pair of nail clippers

▫️A pair of tweezers

I carry a small pocket knife, so I didn’t include a pair of scissors in our box. Unless you or someone in your family carries a pocket knife, a pair of scissors would be wise to include in your own box.

One last thing I included in our family’s kit was something to help bring a smile to a little one in pain – some hard candy! 

Coincidentally, the day I completed the kit, my son fell and scraped his knee pretty badly. While I was doctoring his knee, he was crying, and all I wanted to do was to help him calm down so I could finish my task, so I handed him a piece of hard candy – and bam! – it worked like a charm! He was still in a little pain, but it definitely made the pain a little more bearable!

For more information about a family first-aid kit, here’s a checklist from the Red Cross.

PRINT our Ouch Kit Checklist below to have at the ready for your next shopping trip and to help you organize your own list of needs. I also made the header into a BONUS LABEL you can clip and attach to the box using clear packing tape. (You’re welcome!) Easy peasy!


We would love to hear any about special customizations you’ve made to your own kit, and we invite you to also share photos along the way! Once you have your own Ouch Kit compiled, get out there and enjoy the outdoors! 

For more tips like this, please subscribe to this blog, like us on Facebook and Instragram, and subscribe to our YouTube videos. Thanks for reading, watching, following and subscribing!

Leave a Reply

